The Glass of Time by Michael Cox

I loved “The Meaning of Night” and was thrilled to learn of its sequel The Glass of Time. It lived up to my high expectations and more.

In 1876, more than twenty years after the murder of Phoebus Daunt, Esperanza Gorst goes to Evenwood to become the lady’s maid of Baroness Tansor, who inherited the estate disputed in “The Meaning of Night”.

Esperanza is there, at the behest of her guardian, to uncover the secrets that Baroness Tansor has sought to conceal, and to set right a past injustice in which Esperanza’s own closest interests are bound up.

A web of deception, lies, and worse, is steadily unwound and the story builds to a wonderful conclusion.

The construction is brilliant. A piece of information is introduced, and the next moment its validity called into question. Nothing is as it seems, and nobody can be trusted.

There is much detail and much more that I could say, but I won’t because the book itself takes you on a journey with Esperanza and gives you just the right amount of information at just the right time.

The prose is lovely (though the Victorian style may not be to everyone’s taste), the characters are wonderfully drawn and the depiction of 19th century England is wonderful.

You can work out some things if you have read The Meaning of Night but not everything and it doesn’t spoil the journey through this book at all.

“The Meaning of Night” and “The Glass of Time” both work as stand-alone novels, but I firmly recommended reading both!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: